The Royal York still has this working mail box on its lower level.
Canada Post Corporation,originally known as Royal Mail Canada (the operating name of the Post Office Department of the Canadian government founded in 1867), rebranding was done to the “Canada Post” name in the late 1960s, even though it had not yet been separated from the government. On October 16, 1981, the Canada Post Corporation Act came into effect. This abolished the Post Office Department and created the present day Crown corporation which provides postal service.
Source - Wikipedia
In Ontario, the first Toronto Post Office is still in operation. The site of the Air Canada Centre was once the Canada Post Delivery Building.
Inside ACC Air Canada Centre formerly Toronto Postal Delivery Building.
In the early 1990s, the former Postal Delivery Building in Toronto was earmarked for demolition but somewhere along the line the south and east walls were retained and incorporated into the Air Canada Centre, the home of the Toronto Maple Leafs Ice Hockey team, Toronto Raptors Basketball team and Toronto Rock Lacrosse team.
The Postal Delivery Building was commissioned by the Public Works Department in 1938 and the design by Charles Brommall Dolphin was completed between 1939 and 1941.
With the development of the sports centre around the older building, the original footprint has been respected and maintained to some extent. A display on the wall inside the new centre provides a history of the building including some elements that had to be removed when the rest of the building had been demolished.
On display is the metalwork from above the original employees entrance which incorporates a dolphin in reference to the architect.
The new building was not intended to be a public Post Office, but was used as a warehouse for the sorting and distribution of mail.
The ground floor with its high ceiling served as a terminal for postal vans and railway mail carts. Twin truck doors on the east end of the Lake Shore Boulevard facade were marked with aluminum "ENTRANCE" lettering, while the twin "EXIT" doors were located at the west end of the facade.
Unsorted mail was lifted by conveyor belt to the top floor of the building where it began the route back down through the building by gravity-fed mail chutes, being sorted by size and geography, until deposited once again on the trucking docks of the first floor for pickup and distribution by postal van.
The best part of the building is the series of reliefs at street level depicting the history of human communication.
Mail Carrier - love how they wrap around a corner
1930s Canada Royal Mail Van - preserved inside
The new Postal Delivery Building and Postal Station "A" were connected by a tunnel running beneath the railway tracks - the same "Blue Route" passage that now connects the Air Canada Centre to Union Station.
Long and McQuade Bloor St. West location is one of the biggest music stores in Toronto.
Long and McQuade was founded in 1956 with one store not far from their present location. As the store moved from Yonge St to an earlier Bloor location, it continued to grow. In the 1988 they opened at 925 Bloor St. They continued to grow and acquired neighboring buildings 929, 933 and 935 Bloor St.
It doesn't matter how many times we come here, there is always something new to discover in the offbeat and diverse neighbourhood.
There are no chains here, everything is locally owned and operated from the health conscious restaurants to the multitude of ethnic cuisines you can find something for everyone. They have quite a few restaurants that cater to gluten free diets and even have Bunners, a gluten free bakery.
You must venture down the many alleys to discover great street art.
Along Augusta St.
On College St.
Side of a fish shop.
Behind a locked gate.
Inside a fish shop.
I showed this in an earlier post but have to include it here too.
Elicser Elliott, a well-known muralist, was working on a piece along with some others in a lane.
There is a lot of odd and unique architecture in the area.
And sometimes odd or historical architecture on College St.
The city has recently voted to preserve some of these buildings.
Right across the street there is a very special church on College St. St.Stephen-in-the-Field that has a Homeless Jesus panhandling outside.
The original Bellevue Fire Station, constructed in 1875, was a two-storey structure with one bay for a fire wagon.
The eight-storey tower, added in 1899, possessed a lookout at the top, where firefighters scanned the surrounding streets in search of fires. The tower was also where the fire hoses were hung to dry. In 1911, the station received the first motorized fire engine in the city of Toronto. It replaced the horse-drawn wagons that had previously been in use. In 1922, another bay was added to the station.
In 1972, while the men were out fighting a fire, an arsonist set fire to the station. When it was rebuilt, a third bay was added. The clock in the tower was severely damaged in the fire, so was replaced with a replica. Originally the station was # 8, but is now # 315.
View from the tower, c.1911, looking southeast. The clock tower of the Old City Hall is visible on the horizon. In the left-hand bottom corner of the photo is the Church of St. Martin in the Fields, on the southeast corner of College and Bellevue. The tower of St. James Cathedral on King Street East is also visible on the distant horizon. Source
You could walk down Kensington Ave. for years and not notice the little sign that says "to Kensington Place," an eclectic little cul de sac of former workers cottages hidden from the bustle of the Market.
There's lots to see here, including a house that's been designed as a tribute to the Azores.
Along these same streets you can find more food shops, fish markets, cheese places and even buy herbs and spices or plants for your garden.
It is like a trip around the world's various cultures in an afternoon.
And then back to the subway through Chinatown and by the art galleries near the Art Gallery of Ontario AGO.
Spadina at Dundas. Chinatown sprawls around this area.
Toronto's Chinatown first appeared during the 1890s with the migration of American Chinese from California due to racial conflict and from the Eastern United States due to the economic depression at the time. The earliest record of Toronto's Chinese community is traced to Sam Ching, who owned a hand laundry business on Adelaide Street in 1878.